Unternehmensgeschichte

Am Samstag, den 1. Januar 1972, wollte Franklin Loufrani in einer scheinbar von schlechten Nachrichten beherrschten Zeit ein wenig Frohsinn verbreiten. An diesem Neujahrstag veröffentlichte die französische Zeitung France Soir das Smiley-Logo, um gute Nachrichten hervorzuheben. Bald darauf wurde die Aktion bekannt und die Marke Smiley erblickte das Licht der Welt. Die Smiley Company gehört mit über 260 internationalen Lizenznehmern und einem jährlichen Umsatz von 265 Millionen USD zu den 100 größten Lizenzierungsfirmen der Welt. Das Unternehmen verkauft jährlich über 23 Millionen Produkte. Das Smiley Warenzeichen ist in über 100 Ländern und mehr als 13 Produktkategorien registriert. Laut einer neuen Umfrage von Toluna wird die Marke weltweit von 97 % der Befragten als Symbol für etwas Positives angesehen.

Gründer

Erfahre mehr über Franklin und Nicholas Loufrani und wie die beiden eine Kampagne für mehr positive Zeitungsinhalte in ein Geschäft mit 265 Millionen Dollar Jahresumsatz verwandelten.


Alt
Präsident
Franklin Loufrani

Nach über 5 Jahrzehnten in leitenden Funktionen der Lizenzindustrie war Franklin für die Einführung folgender Lizenzprogramme verantwortlich: Babar der Elefant, Batman, Scooby Doo und Superman. 1972 hat Loufrani als Erster das Smiley-Gesicht als Marke eingetragen. Heute ist er Präsident der Smiley Company.

Alt
CEO
Nicolas Loufrani

Als kreativer Kopf der Smiley Company hatte Nicholas mit seinen Entwürfen der ersten grafischen Emoticons weltweit Erfolg. Nach über 20 Jahren Erfahrung in der Mode- und Lizenzbranche hat Nicholas Smiley zur umfassendsten Lifestylemarke der aktuellen Lizenzbranche gemacht.

Smiley Infografik

Alt

Smiley, die Lifestyle-Marke

Markenvideo ansehen


Smiley Studio

Bei Smiley steht die kreative Produktentwicklung immer im Mittelpunkt. Unser Designstudio in London analysiert Trends und entwickelt Style-Guides, die sich auf die Innovativität, Kreativität und Einzigartigkeit eines jeden unserer Produkte konzentrieren. Damit präsentieren wir unsere Designideen für die Marke und sorgen dafür, dass alle Projekte die DNA unserer Marke widerspiegeln und auf unserer Philosophie und unseren Werten beruhen.

das Smiley Studio

Wir setzen Trends

Designkonzepte

View our marketing materials

Find out more about the brand and variety of collaborations of Smiley today

Alt

Markenbuch

Alt

Brand Architecture

Alt

Brand Collaborations

Alt

Retail Collaborations

Alt

Advertising & Promotions

Eine Übersicht der Smiley-Kollektionen

Entdecke die breitgefächerten Kollektionen, die Smiley heute zur umfassendsten Lifestyle-Marke der Lizenzbranche machen.

Smiley

SmileyWorld

London

Couture

Happy Collection

Happy Decor

Happy Sports

Tribes

Baby

Girl

Junior

Unternehmensnachrichten

Hier gibt es die neuesten Branchennachrichten von Smiley.


Lizenztag in Mailand

Licensing Awards 2015

SMILEY LONDON HW 2015

View All
German

Corporate History

On Saturday 1 January 1972, Franklin Loufrani wanted to spread a little happiness in a time when bad news seemed to prevail. On that New Year’s Day, French newspaper France Soir printed the now iconic smiley logo to highlight good news stories. Before long, the promotion gained traction and an icon and brand was born. The Smiley Company is today one of the TOP100 licensing Companies in the world, with over 260 licensees globally generating annual turnover at retail in excess of $265 million and selling more than 23 million products year round. The Smiley trademark is registered in over 100 countries and in more than 13 product categories and according to a recent Toluna survey has 97% recognition across the world as a symbol of positivity.

Founders

Find out more about Franklin and Nicolas Loufrani and how they turned a simple campaign to promote happiness in newspapers into a $265 million a year business.

Alt
President

Franklin Loufrani

Having spent over 5 decades in senior positions in the licensing industry, Franklin was responsible for launching licensing programs for: Babar The Elephant, Batman, Scooby Doo & Superman. In 1972 Loufrani became the first person to legally trademark the Smiley face & is today President of The Smiley Company.

Alt
CEO

Nicolas Loufrani

The creative force behind The Smiley Company, Nicolas gained global recognition for creating the world’s first graphic emoticons. With over 20 years experience in the fashion and licensing industries, he has overseen the transformation of Smiley into the most complete lifestyle brand in the licensing industry today.

Smiley infographic

Alt

Smiley the total lifestyle brand

Watch the video about Smiley brand


Smiley studio

At Smiley product creativity is absolutely key to everything we do. Our London based design studio analyses trends and develops style guides that focus on innovation, creativity and a unique approach to every single product we create to showcase our design visions of the brand, whilst ensuring everything we do reflects the brands DNA and is based on its philosophy and values.

the smiley studio

we create trends

Design Visions

View our marketing materials

Find out more about the brand and variety of collaborations of Smiley today

Alt

Brand Book

Alt

Brand Architecture

Alt

Brand Collaborations

Alt

Retail Collaborations

Alt

Advertising & Promotions

A guide to smiley collections

Find out more about the variety of collections that make Smiley what it is today - licensing’s most complete and total lifestyle brand.

Smiley

SmileyWorld

London

Couture

Happy Collection

Happy Decor

Happy Sports

Tribes

Baby

Girl

Junior

Corporate News

Catch up on the latest trade news stories from Smiley.


SMILEY CELEBRATES 45 YEAR ANNIVERSARY!

SMILES ALL ROUND AT ANYA HINDMARCH’S NEW FLAGSHIP STORE!

MOSCHINO @ MILAN FASHION WEEK 2016

View All
English